Tue. Dec 6th, 2022
                                         Spain News    Italy News
India vs New Zealand 1st ODI: India’s 5th Consecutive defeat against New Zealand

Team India’s losing streak continues in ODI cricket against New Zealand. In the first match of the three-match series played in Auckland on Friday, the Kiwi team defeated India by 7 wickets.

Batting first after losing the toss, India scored 306 runs losing 7 wickets in 50 overs. For India, three batsmen captain Shikhar Dhawan (72), Shubman Gill (50), and Shreyas Iyer (80) scored half-centuries.

In response, New Zealand achieved the target by losing 3 wickets in 47.1 overs. The Kiwi team’s 3 wickets had fallen for 88 runs. After this, captain Kane Williamson (94) and Tom Latham shared a 145-run partnership for the fourth wicket to snatch the match from India.

This is India’s fifth consecutive defeat at the hands of New Zealand in ODIs since the 2019 World Cup.

Credit-Getty Images

Tom Latham scored the 7th century

Wicket-keeper batsman Tom Latham scored his 7th ODI century. He has overall 19 centuries to his name. The left-handed batsman has scored 12 Test hundreds.

Umran Malik gave 2 shocks

Umran Malik, playing the debut match, got the first wicket of his ODI career by dismissing Devon Conway (24). After that Daryl Mitchell (11) was dismissed.

3 thousand ODI runs were completed for Williamson in home condition

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson has scored 3000 ODI runs on his home grounds. He has completed his half-century. Williamson completed his half-century in 54 balls. Kane picks up the bat with a boundary.

In this match, Indian captains Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill completed their half-centuries with boundaries. 50+ runs partnership with Kiwi captain and wicket-keeper batsman Tom Latham.

Kiwi openers added 35 runs

Chasing a target of 307 runs, the New Zealand openers got off to a brisk start. The pair of Finn Allen and Devon Conway added 35 runs in 46 balls for the first wicket. Shardul Thakur broke this partnership.

Iyer-Samson crossed the score of 250

Team India lost four wickets for 160 runs. Rishabh Pant and Suryakumar Yadav were out early. In such a situation, Shreyas Iyer and Sanju Samson took the team’s score to 250. The Iyer-Sundar duo did the rest of the work.

Shreyas Iyer, who came in place of Virat Kohli, put on 94 runs with Sanju Samson, who has been waiting for his turn in the T20 team for a long time.

The post India vs New Zealand 1st ODI: India’s 5th Consecutive defeat against New Zealand appeared first on SportsUnfold.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Generated by Feedzy Sitemap